.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour


Leads Every Lap En Route To Third Whelen Modified Victory

Timmy Solomito was on cruise control Sunday.

The Islip, New York, driver led every lap twice pulling away from the field on late-race restarts as he drove to Victory Lane in the Dunleavy's 200 at Monadnock Speedway. It was the third NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour win of the season for Solomito.

It was the second straight win on one of tour's bullrings. Solomito won at his home track, New York's Riverhead Raceway on June 25. He opened the season at Connecticut's Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park with his first career victory.

Rowan Pennink made a late bid for the win before settling for second, while Jimmy Blewett brought it home third.

Eric Goodale and Justin Bonsignore were fourth and fifth, respectively.

Championship points leads Doug Coby finished sixth, the last car on the lead lap.

Solomito won his second career Coors Light Pole Award in qualifying Saturday, but late day rain pushed the evening race to Sunday afternoon.

The first 153 laps ran Sunday without a caution. Solomito, with Coby on his back bumper, set a blistering pace in the No. 16 Diversified Metals Ford and lapped all but the top five before the first yellow flag flew.

Solomito was able to cut into Coby's lead, with is now 34 after eight of 17 races.

Max Zachem finished sixth, followed by Woody Pitkat, Rob Summers and Donny Lia. Lia is two points behind Solomito and a point ahead of Bonsignore.

The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour returns to Connecticut's Stafford Motor Speedway on Friday, Aug. 5, for the third of its four visits to the half-mile. Coby has won both previous races there this year.


NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour - Dunleavy's 200 Results
Sunday At Monadnock Speedway, Winchester, N.H.
Lap length:
0.25 miles

  (Start position in parentheses)
  1.   (1) Timmy Solomito, Islip, N.Y., Ford, 200 laps, 58.215 mph.
  2.   (6) Rowan Pennink, Huntingdon Valley, Pa., Chevrolet, 200.
  3.   (7) Jimmy Blewett, Howell, N.J., Dodge, 200.
  4.   (8) Eric Goodale, Riverhead, N.Y., Chevrolet, 200.
  5. (13) Justin Bonsignore, Holtsville, NY, Chevrolet, 200.
  6.   (3) Doug Coby, Milford, Conn., Chevrolet, 200.
  7.   (5) Max Zachem, Preston, Conn., Chevrolet, 199.
  8. (16) Woody Pitkat, Stafford, Conn., Chevrolet, 199.
  9. (14) Rob Summers, Manchester, CT, Chevrolet, 199.
10. (11) Donny Lia, Jericho, NY, Chevrolet, 199.
11.   (9) Brendon Bock, Franklin Square, N.Y., Chevrolet, 198.
12. (17) Matt Swanson, Acton, Mass., Chevrolet, 198.
13. (12) Craig Lutz, Miller Place, N.Y., Chevrolet, 198.
14. (19) Dave Sapienza, Riverhead, N.Y., Chevrolet, 197.
15. (21) Jamie Tomaino, Howell, N.J., Chevrolet, 197.
16.   (4) Chase Dowling, Roxbury, Conn., Chevrolet, 197.
17.   (2) Ron Silk, Norwalk, CT, Chevrolet, 196.
18. (18) Wade Cole, Hartland, Conn., Chevrolet, 195.
19. (22) Gary McDonald, Ronkonkoma, N.Y., Chevrolet, 192.
20. (15) Bobby Santos, Franklin, Mass., Chevrolet, 167, suspension.
21. (20) Jeff Goodale, Riverhead, N.Y., Chevrolet, 100.
22. (23) Melissa Fifield, Wakefield, N.H., Chevrolet, 52, handling.
23. (10) Shawn Solomito, Islip, N.Y., Chevrolet, 44, rear end.

Race Statistics
Time of Race:
51 minutes 32 seconds
Margin of Victory: 0.955 seconds
Fastest Qualifier: T. Solomito (72.231 mph, 12.46 seconds)
Caution Flags: 2 for 16 laps.
Lead Changes: 0 among 1 drivers.
Lap Leaders: T. Solomito 1-200.

Standings: 1. D. Coby, 328; 2. T. Solomito, 294; 3. D. Lia, 292; 4. J. Bonsignore, 291; 5. M. Zachem, 274; 6. J. Blewett, 272; 7. R. Pennink, 272; 8. M. Swanson, 266; 9. E. Goodale, 266; 10. B. Bock, 261.

Source: Jason Christley / NASCAR
: July 24, 2016

2007-2016   GeeLaw Motorsports/RGeePro/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.   Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form without written prior consent