.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour


First Career Whelen Modified Tour Win Comes At Icebreaker

Timmy Solomito's dreams came true Sunday afternoon.

The 24-year-old from Islip, New York, ran away with the 42nd Annual Icebreaker at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park to secure his first career NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour victory. Solomito powered past former champion and current NASCAR XFINITY Series driver Ryan Preece to lead the final 34 laps of the Icebreaker 150 en route to the checkered flag.

"I never thought this day would come," Solomito said. "You lie in bed thinking about things like this. This is a dream come true."

The victory came in Solomito's 36th career start. He is in his second full season driving the No. 16 Diversified Metals/R.B. Enterprises Ford for Flamingo Motorsports. The team had won tour championships with Mike Stefanik (2006) and Preece (2013) before turning to the Long Island native.

Solomito's previous best finish was third, four times, including the final two races of 2015.

Preece settled for a runner-up finish, while Justin Bonsignore finished third. Defending tour champion Doug Coby, who was looking for his fifth straight win at Thompson, won the Coors Light Pole Award Saturday but faded late Sunday to finish fourth. Ron Silk rounded out the top five.

The race went green for the first 81 laps. The first caution allowed for all the teams to come down pit road, and Solomito gained three spots to move up to fourth on the restart. Preece, who led the first 85 laps, gave up the lead to Bonsignore, before Solomito powered into the lead for the first time. Preece got the lead back briefly, but Solomito regained the point and steadily pulled away. He won by 3.512 seconds.

Donny Lia, Eric Goodale, Jimmy Blewett, Rowan Pennink and Woody Pitkat rounded out the top 10.

The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour will race next in the NAPA Spring Sizzler 200 at Connecticut's Stafford Motor Speedway on Sunday, April 24.


NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour-Icebreaker 150 Results

Sunday At Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park, Thompson, Conn.
Lap length:
0.625 miles

  (Start position in parentheses)
  1. (13) Timmy Solomito, Islip, N.Y., Ford, 150 laps, 93.464 mph.
  2.   (2) Ryan Preece, Berlin, Conn., Chevrolet, 150.
  3. (10) Justin Bonsignore, Holtsville, N.Y., Chevrolet, 150.
  4.   (1) Doug Coby, Milford, Conn., Chevrolet, 150.
  5.   (5) Ron Silk, Norwalk, Conn., Chevrolet, 150.
  6.   (3) Donny Lia, Jericho, N.Y., Chevrolet, 150.
  7.   (6) Eric Goodale, Riverhead, N.Y., Chevrolet, 150.
  8.   (9) Jimmy Blewett, Howell, N.J., Dodge, 150.
  9.   (8) Rowan Pennink, Huntingdon Valley, Pa., Chevrolet, 150.
10.   (7) Woody Pitkat, Stafford, Conn., Chevrolet, 150.
11.   (4) Chase Dowling, Roxbury, Conn., Chevrolet, 150.
12. (16) Max Zachem, Preston, Conn., Chevrolet, 150.
13. (19) Bobby Santos, Franklin, Mass., Chevrolet, 150.
14. (15) Patrick Emerling, Orchard Park, N.Y., Chevrolet, 149.
15. (18) Matt Swanson, Acton, Mass., Chevrolet, 149.
16. (11) Shawn Solomito, Islip, N.Y., Chevrolet, 149.
17. (24) Jamie Tomaino, Howell, N.J., Chevrolet, 149.
18. (17) Rob Summers, Manchester, Conn., Chevrolet, 148.
19. (14) Dave Sapienza, Riverhead, N.Y., Chevrolet, 148.
20. (12) Brendon Bock, Franklin Square, N.Y., Chevrolet, 147.
21. (23) Andrew Krause, Holmdel, N.J., Chevrolet, 147.
22. (26) Gary McDonald, Ronkonkoma, N.Y., Chevrolet, 144.
23. (22) Wade Cole, Hartland, Conn., Chevrolet, 144.
24. (20) Jeff Goodale, Riverhead, N.Y., Chevrolet, 141.
25. (25) Troy Talman, Oxford, Mass., Chevrolet, 140, handling.
26. (21) Craig Lutz, Miller Place, N.Y., Chevrolet, 125, electrical.
27. (27) Melissa Fifield, Wakefield, N.H., Chevrolet, 50, handling.

Race Statistics
Time of Race:
1 hour 0 minutes 11 seconds
Margin of Victory: 3.512 seconds
Fastest Qualifier: D. Coby (120.702 mph, 18.641 seconds)
Caution Flags: 2 for 16 laps.
Lead Changes: 6 among 3 drivers.
Lap Leaders: R. Preece 1-85; J. Bonsignore 86-93; T. Solomito 94-102; J. Bonsignore 103;
T. Solomito 104-110; R. Preece 111-116; T. Solomito 117-150.

Standings: 1. T. Solomito, 47; 2. R. Preece, 44; 3. J. Bonsignore, 42; 4. D. Coby, 40;
5. R. Silk, 39; 6. D. Lia, 38; 7. E. Goodale, 37; 8. J. Blewett, 36; 9. R. Pennink, 35; 10. W. Pitkat, 34.

Source: Jason Cunningham / NASCAR
: April 10, 2016

2007-2016   GeeLaw Motorsports/RGeePro/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.   Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form without written prior consent