.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2016
   The Chrome Horn - RoC Asphalt Modified Tour


NASCAR Driver Ryan Preece To Compete In Prestigious Event

Lancaster National Speedway welcomes back the Ferris Mowers Race of Champions Modified Series powered by Sunoco Race Fuels on Saturday, August 20 for the 27th Annual Tommy Druar/Tony Jankowiak Memorial Modified 110.

The Tommy/Tony race is the most prestigious event on the Lancaster National Speedway schedule as it pays tribute to two of its fallen heroes. The 110-lap distance is based on the combination of the car numbers of Druar (No. 37) and Jankowiak (No 73). It is Lancaster's second-longest race of the season, just behind the U.S. Open 125.

Former track official and long-time racing supporter, Howie Markel, has contributed $1,100 in bonus money for the Tommy/Tony 110 once again in 2016. The method of payout will be slightly different for this year's edition as the leader of every 10th lap will receive a $100 bonus in memory of Druar and Jankowiak.

The drivers arenít the only one who will be rewarded with something extra this year. Fans will benefit from the Modified teams pitting in the trackís inner oval so they can witness all the stops right in front of them during the race.

Current RoC Series points leader, Patrick Emerling, is the defending event winner. Last season, Emerling became the 16th-different winner in the history of the Tommy/Tony race, which was also his first-career Modified victory at Lancaster. The Orchard Park, N.Y, driver has been the hottest thing in open-wheeled racing this season with five total wins on the RoC circuit, including the Queen City Clash 75 and the Ol' Boy Cup 60 at LNS. He also has four Sunoco Sportsman feature wins this year at Lancaster.

Leading the charge to unseat Emerling will be three-time Tommy Druar/Tony Jankowiak Memorial winner, Chuck Hossfeld. The "Hotshoe" finished second to Emerling in both Modified races run at Lancaster this season. Hossfeld won the 2003, 2008 and 2011 editions of the Tommy/Tony race.

NASCAR Xfinity Series driver and former NASCAR Modified champion, Ryan Preece of Berlin, CT, will make his first ever start at Lancaster National Speedway in the Tommy/Tony 110. Preece is currently in his first full season in the Xfinity Series driving for JD Motorsports. He became the youngest driver ever to win a NASCAR Modified Tour title in 2013 when he won the championship at 22 years old.

The RoC Modifieds will be joined on August 20 by the Advance Auto Parts Street Stocks, Roaming Buffalo 4-Cylinders and NYPA TQ Midgets. Adult general admission tickets are just $20 and kids under 12 are free. Racing start time has been moved up from the normal 6:30 p.m. start time to 5:30 p.m. for this long-distance race.

Tommy Druar/Tony Jankowiak Memorial winners:

1990 - Sege Fidanza
1991 - Charlie Rudolph
1992 - Sege Fidanza/Rick Fuller (Separate events)
1993 - Charlie Rudolph
1994 - Tim Mangus
1995 - Jan Leaty
1996 - Billy Putney
1997 - Todd Burley
1998 - Sege Fidanza
1999 - Danny Knoll, Jr.
2000 - Billy Putney
2001 - Danny Knoll, Jr.
2002 - Rich Littlefield
2003 - Chuck Hossfeld
2004 - Buck Catalano
2005 - Dave Wollaber
2006 - No Race
2007 - Jan Leaty
2008 - Chuck Hossfeld
2009 - Jeff Hamman
2010 - Matt Hirschman
2011 - Chuck Hossfeld
2012 - Matt Hirschman
2013 - Matt Hirschman
2014 - Tony Hanbury (Combined with U.S. Open)
2015 - Patrick Emerling
Source: Race Of  Champions Media
Posted: August 10, 2016

2007-2016  © GeeLaw Motorsports/RGeePro/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.   Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form without written prior consent