.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2016
   The Chrome Horn - RoC Asphalt Modified Tour


Brown, Bainbridge & Catalano Also Grab Win

Patrick Emerling of Orchard Park, N.Y. picked up his sixth win of the season at Lancaster National Speedway on Thursday night as he captured the second annual Ol’ Boy Cup 60 Bill Colton Memorial Race of Champions Modified Series event presented by Thermal Foams.

Emerling started fifth in the 25 car field and inherited the lead from Chuck Hossfeld on lap 36 after Hossfeld pulled off the track with an apparent mechanical issue.

Daren Scherer and George Skora III led the field to the initial green flag. Scherer grabbed the early lead with Skora settling into second followed by Rusty Smith, Andy Jankowiak and Emerling. The first caution of the race took place on lap 10 when Sam Fullone and Karl Hehr spun in turn two. Smith relinquished a top five position during the yellow flag period to pit for adjustments.

One lap after the ensuing restart, Jankowiak spun out in turn two while racing Emerling for position. The caution flag came out again on lap 13 for a multicar pile up on the frontstretch that started when Kevin Timmerman hit the outside wall. Tommy Catalano, Cam Barber and Ted Christopher were also involved with just Baber and Christopher returning to competition.

The race finally settled down after the wreckage was cleared with Scherer leading Emerling, Hossfeld, Skora and Jimmy Zacharias. Hossfeld, the defending race winner, had quickly moved from the 11th starting spot to take over second place from Emerling on lap 14. One lap later he got to the inside of Scherer to move into the top spot.

Yellow fever took over again from laps 32-35. It started on lap 32 when Lee Sharpsteen stopped on the frontstretch to bring out the yellow flag to end a 19-lap stretch of green flag racing. Andy Jankowiak spun out for a second time on lap 34 to bring out the yellow flag again.

Racing attempted to resume on lap 35, but Sharpsteen slowed once again. As the field came to the yellow flag, Calvin Carroll and Chris Risdale got together on the frontstretch. Both cars suffered serious damage. On the ensuing restart, Skora suffered damage from hitting the wall. Fullone got turned around in the aftermath and backed his car into the Thermal Foam blocks in turn three.

The race restarted on lap 35 with Hossfeld leading Emerling and Mike Leaty, but Hossfeld’s day came to end shortly thereafter when he pulled off the track while leading.

This handed the lead to Emerling who won the first RoC Modified race of the season at Lancaster, and has also won four Sunoco Sportsman features.

Scherer battled back to reclaim second place from Leaty with just 13 laps remaining. He attempted to chase down Emerling in the closing laps, and was just as fast as the leader during the final stretch to the finish. Scherer took a look to the inside of Emerling as the came to the checkered flag, but he could not get past him.

Emerling picked up his second Modified win of the season at Lancaster and third RoC Modified Series win of the year. The victory also gave him six total wins at Lancaster in 2016. Scherer finished second with Leaty in third. Tyler Rypkema charged from the 17th starting position to finish fourth. Daryl Lewis, Jr. rounded out the top five.

Eric Brown of Springville, N.Y. stole a surprise win in the Advance Auto Parts Street Stocks. In his first start of the season at Lancaster, Brown came from the 12th starting position to pass Terry Weldy for the lead with just three laps to go. Weldy finished a close second followed by Jerome Hruby, Tommy Wentland and Jarrod Brown.

Kevin Bainbridge picked up his fifth win of the season in the Roaming Buffalo 4-Cylinders. Bainbridge inherited the lead during a caution on lap 8 when Chris Pennell pitted with a flat tire. He drove away for the final 17 laps to score the win. Tim Durfy finished second with Rich Bartel, Jason Anasiewicz and Dan Dressel rounding out the top five.

In the NYPA TQ Midgets, Kyle Hutchinson looked to be on his way victory after leading the first 19 laps of the feature from the pole. Tommy Catalano, however, gave Hutchinson the bump-n-run in turn four on the final lap to steal the win. It was Catalano’s second Lancaster win in less than a week after winning the Sunoco Sportsman feature this past Saturday.

Lancaster’s stock car program is now off until July 16. That night will be Retro Night with fans encouraged to wear their favorite old school racing shirts, jackets, hats and anything else they can find. The Xpress Signs Late Models will join three weekly division racing. Following the races, the Kiss tribute band Kiss This will perform in the concourse in full Kiss makeup and costumes. Racing starts at 6:30 p.m.

About Lancaster National Speedway & Dragway: Founded in 1959, Lancaster National Speedway and Dragway is a multi-use facility located on 77 acres just outside of metropolitan Buffalo, N.Y. The facility features a 1/8-mile drag strip, a 1/2-mile oval track and hosts several non-motorsports events such as car shows and concerts. For the latest information on Lancaster National Speedway & Dragway check out our website www.lancasternationalspeedway.com. Additional information for racers and fans can be found on our Facebook page (www.facebook.com/LancasterSpeedway) and on Twitter (@LancasterSpdwy).

Heat Winners:
Daren Scherer, Chuck Hossfeld, Mike Leaty, Daryl Lewis, Jr.
Ol’ Boy Cup 60 Bill Colton Memorial Finish: PATRICK EMERLING, Daren Scherer, Mike Leaty, Tyler Rypkema, Daryl Lewis, Jr., Cam Barber, Bryan Sherwood, Jimmy Zacharias, Rusty Smith, Ted Christopher, Amy Catalano, TJ Zacharias, Jeff Hamman, Lee Sharpsteen, Donny Hartzell, Andy Jankowiak, Chuck Hossfeld, George Skora III, Sam Fullone, Alan Bookmiller, Calvin Carroll, Chris Risdale, Kevin Timmerman, Tommy Catalano, Karl Hehr DNS: Dave Rigan

Heat Winners:
Dave Wilson, Trevor Pettit, Mark Hoch
Feature: ERIC BROWN, Terry Weldy, Jerome Hruby, Tommy Wentland, Jarrod Brown, Keith Flanigan, Andy Cryan, Trevor Pettit, Dave Wilson, Ken Maltby, Jim Bryant, Mike Dalfonso, Jr., Dennis Londos, Garrett Cleverlsey, Ed Culliton, Nate Straus, Tim Garlock, Mark Hoch, Mike Dalfonso, Sr., Don Sitarski

Heat Winners:
Matt Druar, Billy McNerney
Feature: KEVIN BAINBRIDGE, Tim Durfy, Rich Bartel, Jason Anasiewicz, Dan Dressel, Dave Milbrand, Jr., Zach Cleverlsey, Howard Guthrie, Billy McNerney, Joe Brunka, Jody London, Laurie Krol, Chris Pennell, Frank Prell, Bobby Woch, Matt Druar

Heat Winner:
Kyle Hutchinson, Charlie DiRosa
Feature: TOMMY CATALANO, Kyle Hutchinson, Andy Nye, Dave Wollaber, Erik Musto, Vinny Christiano, Jr., Shawn Nye, Mack DeMan, AJ Hessler, Jonathan Reid, Arik McGruder, Sean McNamara, Charlie DiRosa, Vinny Christiano III, Jim Musto, Greg Richardson, Jamie Pew, Chad Haywood, Kent Turnbull, Kevin Wilson, Chuck Kowalski
Source: Dave Buchanan / Lancaster National Speedway & Dragway
Posted: June 30, 2016

2007-2016  © GeeLaw Motorsports/RGeePro/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.   Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form without written prior consent