.Teams and Drivers,
Submit your FREE profile
 for 2010
   The Chrome Horn - Valenti Modified Racing Series



Like David Pinkham and Jerry Marquis before him, Todd Szegedy, of Ridgefield, Connecticut., welcomed the opportunity to ‘pinch hit’ and substitute for a driver who needed the night off because of another commitment.

Friday night, July 8, Ridgefield, CT, veteran Todd Szegedy was a surprise entry filling in for reigning Valenti Modified Racing Series Champion Woody Pitkat, and in so doing scored the first VMRS win for car-owner Dan Stebbins, and his first victory of the year, when he nabbed the ‘Claremont 100.’ at Claremont (NH) Speedway.

Pitkat, who competed in a special event at Stafford, Connecticut., approached Szegedy three weeks ago to wheel the #52. It was only the third time this season that Szegedy has raced

The win was Szegedy’s fourth VMRS victory.

Pinkham, who had not raced in several years, surprisingly filled in for driver Gary Casella in August 2006, at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway, to score a popular win. In another surprise, move, involving the same car-owner (Casella), modified legend, Jerry Marquis covered for Rowan Pennink while Pennink was at Loudon, NH. Marquis won his only VMRS race at Waterford, CT., August 2011.

“It was pretty awesome. Danny (Owner) and Greg (Felton-Crew Chief) put a real good car underneath me. I’d never driven an Art Barry (Spafco) series car so that’s pretty good. First time driving one and I win in it,” said Szegedy.”

Szegedy furthered, “The team worked so well. Very organized. They made a big difference in getting me comfortable in the car .The seat needed adjustments. Adjustments on the headrest were needed. We did not need to do much to the car. It was good right out of the box.”

Northport, New York, driver David Schneider led the opening lap then hung around in the top five for most of the event and found himself very late in the race pressing Szegedy as the race wound down.

Schneider, Jon McKennedy, Todd Patnode, and Mike Willis Jr followed Szegedy across the line.

Branden Dion, Dana Smith, Chris Pasteryak, Carl Medeiros Jr, and George Sherman, rounded out the top ten.

Next Event: July 22, 2016
Lee USA Speedway
Lee, NH.

Race Summary
Claremont Speedway
July 8, 2016
Race # 8

Distance: 100-laps
Lead Changes: (2)
Lap Leaders: 1 (Schneider) 2-15 (Patnode) 16-100 (Szegedy)
Cautions: Laps: 1,17,17,52,53,62,62,62,62,62,78

Unofficial Order of Finish: (1) Szegedy, (2) Schneider, (3) McKennedy, (4) Patnode, (5) Willis, (6) Dion, (7) Smith, (8) Pasteryak,(9) Medeioros, (10) Sherman, (11) Rock, (12) McMichael (13) Fournier, (14) Bleau, (15) Hersey, (16) Rameau, (17) Richardi, (18) King, (19) Lashua
Source: John Spence / Valenti Modified Racing Series
: July 10, 2016

2007-2016 © GeeLaw Motorsports/RGeePro/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.   Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form without written prior consent