The Chrome Horn - Looking Back A Bit with Phil Smith

November 18, 2016

  Forty years ago in 1976, the Falconi family that was operating the Westboro Speedway tried something different as they promoted a Modified race for mid November with heated grandstands. The Falconi's owned and operated an oil company and closed in the under part of the grandstand and used huge fuel oil powered heaters. Needless to say, the experiment worked, as everyone was toasty warm. Leo Cleary in the Tiger Tom Dunn T-5 led the 50 lap main event from pole to pole. Bugsy Stevens finished second and was followed by George Murray, Mike Murphy, Bob Santos, Pete Fiandaca, Dick Caso and Roland LaPierre Jr.

  Fifteen years ago in 1991, the Oswego Speedway was put up for sale with a price tag of $3 million. In Winston Cup racing at Atlanta, Jerry Nadeau was in the lead and heading for the win when he ran out of gas with less than a half lap to go. Bobby Labonte took the lead with less than 100 yards to go and went on to record the win. Nadeau coasted across the finish line in fourth spot.

  Ten years ago in 2006, the True Value Modified Series, which had become a less expensive alternative to the NASCAR Series, indicated that the Waterford Speedbowl may very well be on their schedule for 2007. The open wheel touring series, which first appeared at the Seekonk Speedway in October of 2004, would compete in four 100 green flag lap events, which would be preceded by a series of qualifying heats.
  At the NASCAR Dodge Weekly Series Awards Banquet in Las Vegas, NASCAR recognized several racetracks for their outstanding promotional efforts in 2006. Among the honorees was the Thompson Speedway, which received the Administrative award of excellence.
  NASCARís Nextel Cup and Busch Series wrapped up their seasons at Homestead, Fla. Matt Kenseth took the Busch Series win. Kevin Harvick already had wrapped up the title. In Nextel Cup action, Greg Biffle took the win and Jimmie Johnson, the title.

  Five years ago in 2011, In NASCAR Sprint Cup action, Kasey Kahne snapped an 81-race winless streak with his victory at the Phoenix International Raceway, where Carl Edwards and Tony Stewart finished second and third to keep the title race tight headed into the following weekend's season finale. Jeff Burton finished fourth and was followed by Ryan Newman. Kyle Busch, racing again after NASCAR parked him at Texas the previous weekend for intentionally wrecking Ron Hornaday Jr., worked his way up to third before his engine failed. He finished 36th. In Nationwide Series racing at Phoenix, Sam Hornish took his first NASCAR victory by passing points leader Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and leading the final 61 laps at slippery Phoenix International Raceway on Saturday. Stenhouse took a big step toward the Nationwide season title when Elliott Sadler was taken out with 25 laps left on a bump from behind by Jason Leffler. The unfortunate incident leaves Stenhouse with a nearly insurmountable 41-point lead over Sadler heading into the season finale at Homestead.

  Last year, 2015 The dark cloud that hung over the finish of the recent North-South Shootout continued to hover. Justin Bonsignore, who crossed the finish line in second spot behind Matt Hirschman when the checkered flag was displayed was declared the event. Hirschman was placed to the end of those on the lead lap at the finish because his crew worked on his car during a red flag period in the closing moments. Just about everybody who has been in and around racing knows that working on cars is just not allowed. Hirschman's crew alleges that they were given permission to plug a leaking tire. Race director Tom Fox had denied this. Prior to the restart Fox was forced to leave the speedway in order to make a flight connection that couldn't be avoided. It was suggested to event promoter Darren Hacket that the race be red-checkered and not restarted. Hacket decided to run the event to its completion. Aware that a violation of race procedure had occurred, Hacket failed to place Hirschman at the tail of the lead lap.
  In the process of launching an ad for season tickets the Stafford Motor Speedway revealed at least two of the Whelen Modified Tour events for 2016. The Annual Spring Sizzler would be run on Sunday, April 24 and the Fall Final will be held on Sunday, October 2.
  In NASCAR Sprint Cup racing, Kevin Harvick, Kyle Busch and Martin Truex Jr. advanced to the Chase for the Sprint Cup championship finale after surviving a long Sunday that ended with a rain-shortened race at Phoenix International Raceway. The race was delayed nearly seven hours by a series of storms, forcing the penultimate race in the Chase to start under the lights at the mile oval. More rain forced NASCAR to called it after 219 laps, with Harvick second behind winner Dale Earnhardt Jr., Busch fourth and Truex 14th.

  Thatís about it for this week from 11 Gardner Drive, Westerly, and R.I.02891.Ring my chimes at 401-596-5467.E-Mail,

Phil Smith has been a columnist for Speedway Scene and various
other publications for over 3 decades.

Looking Back Archive

Source: Phil Smith / Looking Back A Bit
Posted: November 18, 2016

2007-2016 © GeeLaw Motorsports/RGeePro/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.   Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form without written prior consent